Out of “Comfort Zone”

Hello, in this blogpost, I venture out of my so called comfort zone and try something spring appropriate makeup. Not exactly but you get the gist of it. I turned myself into a drag queeen at first, if I pulled out Limecrime’s Salem Velvetine, I only do drag queen makeup with it. Then I just decided to do a proper full face, not exactly. Almost full face, somewhere there, I merely did my eyes, brows and lips.

This is an exact recreation of the eye makeup I wore to my teacher’s wedding (of which I didn’t take any photos of my eye makeup), still unable to get over how I managed to get ready in 30 minutes that time.

I can’t take selfies for the life of me. But take this as a simple weekend treat, I show you my makeup. As I said, I can’t take selfies for the life of me and so I put filters to make my selfies look a bit more presentable for a blog post. Regardless, I’ll guide you through to achieving this look.

DSC_4457

Step 1: Fill in those brows.

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

I used the shade “Sleek” from theBalm’s Nude’tude palette and made use of the liner (smaller) side of the brush given in the palette. I seem to have mastered using an eyeshadow filling in my brows to get the shape I like. Maybe I shouldn’t have dragged it shorter at the tail of my brow. But just fill in your brows in whatever shape suits you best, straight or arched, I obviously like mine arched. I merely follow my natural brow hairs. Pardon the unruly brows, I’m gonna get them shaped soon.

Step 2: Put on your lid colour.

I applied the shade “Stubborn” all over. From this step on, use a shadow brush, I used the one in the palette. But if you have the brushes, use a shader brush maybe even a blending brush, good all rounders in this faculty are the Zoeva 227 Luxe Soft Definer, MAC 217, Sigma E25 Blending. Or just use your fingers, classic way that always works, pinky finger most recommended, especially if you have small lid space like me, if not ring finger!

Step 3: Apply a transition/crease shade.

Helps define your crease, mine is non-existent. I literally place this shade into my eye socket, not your eyeball, the eye socket is just below your brows, push it a bit, can feel your eyeball. I’m done describing this disgustingly painful process. I used the same brush and applied “Sultry” to my non existent crease. Almost every brand does a shade like “Sultry”, think Urban Decay’s Buck (available in the Naked palette) and Makeup Geek’s Latte.

Step 4: Apply a shimmery colour to the centre of the lid.

I like this step best, choose a nice shimmery pink shade and apply it wet to the center of the lid. I love “Stand-offish” it’s my favourite shade in the palette. Applying it wet is the theory of wettng your brush with either a bit of water or MAC’S Fix+ and dipping it into the shadow, this brings out the shimmer/glitteriness in a shadow. I thank Beth for this tip I actually forgot about. Just apply a tiny bit to the centre of the lid, “Stand-offish” brings out its inner glow when applied wet. vscocam-photo-1

Step 5: Apply a lip colour.

This look is rather versatile, I recommend going for the classic red lippy, a pink lippy or just nude.

For the wedding, I went for a combination of the NYX Butter Gloss in Crème Brûlée. Here, I finally whipped out my Rimmel Kate Moss 107, god I love it. Normally, it is so terribly drying on my unhealthy, peeling lips. If you are prone to biting your lip a lot, this will be a colour you will wear occasionally. If I could choose other reds, I’d go for something that’s almost a true red, the Sephora Cream Lip Stain in 01 Always Red. For an orangey-red lip, it’s safe to say I’ll be turning to MAC’s Lady Danger. Classic. A pink, go for the Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet in Pink Pong or Olé Flamingo, or any pink shade in that range really, a vivid bright pink, nothing too bright does the trick.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

And Voila! The look is done and dusted. In the photos, I didn’t out mascara on, my lashes were wet because I washed my hair.But for the actual look, I used the Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes mascara (which I adore!!!!!!!!!!!!).

Hope you liked this more laidback (not laidback at all trust me) kind of blogpost.

With Love.

Leave a Reply

