Dear February 2016

Dear February,

Every year with you, it’s a fleeting affair. You act so unlike a month but when you think about it, you feel so much like one. But February, this year you’re different, you have 29 days. This year you feel different to be in too, dear February. Maybe you’re just happy to be offered an extra day so you treat me nice…

February I feel like you’ve opened up new doors, new opportunities. Now please get off your high horse and be humble since I never compliment you. Throughout this month, maybe because you’re the second month of the year I feel like you’re a big fan of second chances. Thus it makes you a (massive) fan of giving something called hope. We all know (all too well or some better than others) that hope is one dangerous thing to hold onto, not only does it have the ability to brings its best friend/lover, Expectations, way too high, it also can make Expectations jumps hundreds of floors down with it. Till death do we part, right? Expectations and Hope are practical soulmates, they come in a “buy one get one free” deal. Frankly, I’m not a fan of that deal, but I’ll take it since you delivered that to me in a pretty package.

I took your advice and opened myself up as a new chapter is being read: tertiary education. Though I was reluctant, you were insistent. Oh how could I resist? I’m thankful I took your advice, February. I have met some of the nicest people at orientation and I continue to meet nice people, here my two faves, Ser Rin and Sheryl or as I affectionately call double S, S is a nickname to Serena van der Woodsen from Gossip Girl since these two freaked over that show.

double s.jpg

Maybe something that was once my mantra was right. It costs nothing to be nice. The fact that niceness returns niceness most of the time has been nothing but delightful. Maybe the old self that died when 2014/2015 happened was coming back. Maybe this is a sign that things are beginning to shape up nicely for 2016. Maybe it is only getting better.

Oh there I go again, getting carried away. Hope and Expectations just do that. But let’s move on from all that’s new and glistening and pretty and brand new. I’m happy that other than opening new doors, you open old ones I haven’t revisited in a long time since I was so caught up with work and all. I actually caught up with old friends. ‘Tis is the time to be nostalgic, darling. When you catch up with old friends, all those little moments you enjoyed in school suddenly come to the forefront of your mind almost as if someone used a slingshot in your mind? Think that’s what happened when I caught up with Jialing and Tricia.

beep.jpg

Maybe a tiny part of us missed O Level days, the fun we had as a class and the class games that we took seriously and insisted on having. That’s the thing about secondary school life, even if it was torturous, stressful, traumatising and maybe dark, you remember it for the good things too. Sometimes, the good things that made secondary school life worth remembering however dark the moments we had there were. But light always outshines darkness, I just want to remember it for the good, but that doesn’t mean I’m not thankful for the lessons it taught me that made me see the world in a different perspective. I wouldn’t change my secondary school life any other way, I had some amazing teachers, met some incredibly talented people with just as amazing personalities. All that wouldn’t have happened if it weren’t for that period of time in my life.

Though contradictory to saying that I enjoyed my time in secondary school, I’m still bloody glad I graduated. There’s no better feeling than starting off with a clean slate in a place where nobody knew you, the person you were, the person you are. I’m happier now where I am and the best part is, it’s only the beginning of something great. I feel it. Don’t second a girl’s sixth sense!

Now as I enjoy what is left of fashion month, I wish you well February. I can’t wait to hear from you again. Hope you enjoyed having the 29th whilst you could, after all it only comes once in four years.

Gotta end it Gossip Girl-esque since I’ve been obsessed with that series. (Sorry PLL, you’re great but there’s something about GG)

 

You know you love me.

XOXO (pretend I said ‘With Love),

Gossip Girl (think I said my name).

 

PS: This made me my favourite Dear (insert month here) to write for some reason. I hope you enjoyed it 😀

Leave a Reply

