Sun Summer Skin Served

(Title is a word play that is meant to say: “Some Summer Skin Served” I love alliteration.)

Summer:

  1. where chronically hot weather drives your dry skin insane and leaves your skin irritated and sticking with sweat.
  2. the season where you can load up on the bronzer and get a sun-kissed glow; where you can pile on the highlighter and get it mistaken for sweat
  3. the season where glowing/dewy skin is all the rage.

Singapore has an all rounded tropical weather, but it has its “four seasons”: cool and windy; scorching hot and humid; cloudy; perfect weather. So, all year round you can see me rocking the same kind of skin but maybe I’ll change up the colour palette if our weather is any less than perfect or scorching hot and humid.

But here’s the question: what’s “summer skin”? Well, summer skin is defined by beauty gurus as bronzed, glowing and fresh skin. Healthy glows are in, lightweight bases are the way to go. I’m not about the bronzer, but I’m definitely going all in for the highlighters, the glow and the fresh skin.

Moving on…my skin type is normal to dry since it can vary depending on what antics my eczema is up to. I can easily get dry patches. Dry skin runs in my family and I’ve got a lot of those genes in me. Everything I put on my face has to be tried and tested beforehand. Once I know a particular product irritates my skin, it’s best for me to stay away from it as much as I can. For a person with eczema to live in a place like Singapore, you can call it living hell. So how do I obtain the glowing skin that I love that is all the rage in the beauty world right now?

 

Here’s how…

  1. Cleansing.2 I can’t emphasise the importance of cleansing enough. Cleansing your face helps to clean off any unwanted stuff on your skin that has built up throughout the day or the night before and ensures that today’s leftovers (referring the remains of your makeup that your makeup remover probably left untouched, not food) aren’t on your face anymore. Since I need to use a specific cleanser as recommended by my doctor, I use the Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser (life hack: wash your makeup brushes with it!), nothing too harsh and does what it says on the bottle works for me.
  2. Moisturising. A no-brainer for us dry skin people. Facial moisturiser is a must-have for me if I don’t want my face to lose its moisture and get dehydrated. I use the Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream Intensive Daily Moisturiser For Face with SPF15. I love this product for a variety of reasons. 1) The radiance it leaves behind after you apply it is so amazing. I love the glow it gives, it checks all my boxes. 2) a little goes a long way with this product, there is no need for me to squeeze out a 20-cent coin amount, squeezing out an amount smaller than a 10-cent coin seems to do it for me. 3) This kills two birds with one stone. SPF or sunscreen for any kind of “season” Singapore is in because the sun always finds its way back to us. Not gonna lie, I read somewhere that wearing SPF alone gives you more moisturising functions than your usual moisturiser, but you know, each to their own. The Bioré UV Bright Face Milk SPF 50+ is a cult classic for this function and the Japanese brand is definitely nothing foreign to us Singaporeans.
  3. EXTRA STEP, not entirely necessary but can make a difference! Priming. Primers are that extra step in a makeup routine that not everyone needs or has. In case you’re not familiar with primers, they provide a better base for your foundation to sit on. Primers have a variety of functions, depending on what you’re looking for. If you’re interested in reading about primers beyond what I’m mentioning, you can read this and this. In today’s agenda, I merely want to touch on primers providing radiance or a dewy/glowing base underneath the skin. If you’re not about wearing a full face of makeup and just want to look like you put in some effort into your skin, just wear a hydrating primer and you’re good to go. I learnt that tip from my beloved friend, Joanna, whose skin is so perfect I wonder why she’s not in an SK-II advertisement. If I’m not wrong, she uses the Too Faced Hangover primer (I guessed it since she said Too Faced and this is the only primer they have anyway). The primer made famous with youtubers like NikkieTutorials, is infused with coconut water and will provide radiance to your skin, that’s what we want to achieve! Other primers you can use are MAC Strobe Cream (test this on the back of your hand, I always love the hydrating and glow it gives to my back of my hand and this product is only my shopping list) or BECCA’s Backlight Priming Filter (this can be quite/very glowy, so if that’s not for you, give it a pass). A drugstore alternative is L’Oreal Lumi Magique primer and don’t worry, I may not have tried it but this range has been given a thumbs up by many beauty gurus. Beauty hack: liquid highlighters (say BECCA Shimmering Skin Perfector) can also be mixed with your foundation to add an extra bit of glow to your foundation or simply to change up the finish  especially if it’s matte and you’re not willing to go all out and get a new foundation just for glowing skin.
  4. Finding the right base. DSC_4564It takes everyone a good amount of time to find the best foundation for their skin tone and skin type alone. How much longer does it take for us to find the foundation that is able to answer to our unlimited wants? For me, I’m not the biggest fan of foundation, I may appear to be in a full face of makeup but I’m blessed to only have the occasional breakout when I’m stressed or when it is that time of the month so I can get away with no base makeup, unless I’m wearing contacts because my dark eye bags are in a league of their own.  I need a base that is hydrating, lightweight and most importantly, it better not show that I am a dry skin girl. I want to be radiating a healthy glow from my face and hide the fact that I’m darn stressed and have wonderfully dark eye bags. With the rising popularity of cushion foundations, you can say that I’m intrigued. And I love it, all that hype around them is worth it. I use the IOPE Air Cushion and it’s safe to say, this foundation is everything. It’s very dewy, so I tend to keep my T-zone matte with my Rimmel Stay Matte powder (severely broken thus not included) or Australis Fresh & Flawless powder (available at Watsons) because I can get oily throughout the day, funnily enough. As IOPE is not easily accessible in Singapore, good alternatives for a cushion foundation could be the Innisfree one, which I’ve tried and quite like or the L’Oreal one, which has well raved by Western beauty bloggers/vloggers. Any Korean brand does cushion foundations and the Western brands are jumping on the bandwagon too, with Lancôme pioneering that movement.

 

With that over and done with, here’s a breakdown on my everyday summer look:

3

If you know me, red lipstick will always be up my street, especially if it’s an orangey red. It is practically synonymous with my name as many of my friends would say. It’s summer all year round in Singapore, cracking out my bright red lipsticks are more than appropriate.

The only reds I have that are all my favourites are:

  1. Sephora Cream Lip Stain in 01 Always Red
  2. NYX Matte Lipstick in Indie Flick
  3. Colourpop Lippie Stix in Jenneration X

IMG_6146

Recently, I’ve bought some new makeup and loved experimenting with rose, sunset, brick red tones. Warm tones are not everyone’s cup of tea, I like all kinds of tones, but I’m really surprised at how much I’ve been loving such a look lately. I love this simple four step eye makeup that literally looks like I put in a lot of effort for my eyeshadow but in reality, I only needed to blend and that was (seriously) all the work.DSC_4568

  1. I love the blush shade “Amaretto” (top row, middle shade) from the BECCA x Jaclyn Hill Champagne Collection Face Palette (sold out everywhere to be honest, but don’t worry, BECCA x Jaclyn Hill Champagne Split Pans are coming soon to our sunny shores and you’ll be able to get Amaretto in them!) but BECCA being BECCA, has ultra luxurious pigmentation so pigmented that I’m afraid to use it on my face because I can be heavy handed.(If you were to use it, I highly suggest using a duo-fibre brush, since they pick up less product than a regular blush brush) I sweep Amaretto into my crease and this, is the love of my life in a crease shade.
  2. Using NYX’s Shading Brush, I take Colourpop’s Super Shock shadow in “Trois” from Jenn Im’s “Jenn Ne Sais Quoi” collection and pat the colour onto my lid. Then, I’ll take a blending brush (typically Zoeva 227 or if I’m lazy I just use the same brush) to fuse it together with the crease colour and make sure the lid colour is seamless.
  3. I take Colourpop’s Super Shock shadow in “Weenie” from KathleenLights’ “Where the Night Is” collection on my finger and press it gently to the centre of my lid. That’s it. Careful though, this shadow is in a Pearlized finish and is crazy pigmented, a small, gentle tap of your finger into the pot is all it takes. I’m serious. I repeat, one small, gentle tap is all you need to be wowed by the amazingness of Colourpop’s quality.
  4. I highlighter my inner corner with Champagne Pop (bottom row, left shade), of course.

But we all know that if my eyes look great, I have got to balance out the rest of my face.4

  1. Base: Iope Air Cushion
  2. Blush: Milani Baked Blush in “Luminoso”, I use this blush for practically every look I do, it is just that versatile. Kudos to NikkieTutorials for all that raving. Funny how I thought this blush was too peachy for me and now it’s all I wear.
  3. Highlight: theBalm Mary Lou Manizer, I will always come back to this. Why did I not just choose a highlight from the BECCA palette and reduce the amount of products used? Champagne Pop or Prosecco Pop from the BECCA palette just doesn’t seem to give me the kind of glow Mary Lou gives, they low-key makes me look like an oil slick and it loves to sit on my texture and emphasises it. I can’t quite describe it, it’s not that i don’t love it, but I’ll save it for days when I have perfect skin days, that is gonna be a long time from now. However, if you don’t have dry skin or skin texture like me, it’s worth getting it. I know my friend Yvana adores BECCA highlighters, they really give her the blinding highlight that can be seen from outer space. I’m not even exaggerating. 2
  4. Lips: Colourpop Lippie Stix in Jenneration X from the Jenn Im X Colourpop collaboration, “Jenn Ne Sais Quoi”, occasionally I change my lip colour up and it will either be Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Bow n Arrow or NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Stockholm.1
    IMG_5678
    Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Bow n Arrow

    IMG_5503
    NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Stockholm

Hope you enjoyed this really long beauty post. If you would like to see more beauty posts like these, tell me, I would love your feedback. 🙂

Don’t worry, I will still keep this blog as personal and lifestyle-ish as possible, more writing coming your way very soon.

With Love.

 

Leave a Reply

